Take This Life

Take This Life (https://www.takethislife.com/)
-   OCD (https://www.takethislife.com/ocd/)
-   -   In any other place but my own, things must be perfect. (https://www.takethislife.com/ocd/any-other-place-but-my-own-75229/)

Oubliette 08-04-12 10:35 AM

In any other place but my own, things must be perfect.

I find my OCD type tendencies seem to be more focused on everything outside of my room (I clean my room once a week to near perfection). I am studying to be a beautician (I think in the US they call it Esthetician) and I work in the collages salon most days.

I get in at least half an hour early every day and re-fold all the towels and linens, position all the beds so they are symmetrical...and I always find myself cursing all the other girls under my breath for not being able to carry out these tasks properly.

It really doesn't seem that hard to do, fold things properly, put dirty linen in the wash and put clean linen on the beds, yet almost all the girls are just slobs and it is really starting to bother me...to the point where I am becoming quite stressed in salon and will often re-fold things throughout the day and request I'm on specific duties just to make sure other people don't stuff it up.

When people start helping me do things I go into a mini-panic in my mind because I know about 90% of what they do I'll have to take out and re-do because they can't do it properly, yet I don't want to get on people's bad sides.

It's not just at school though, it happened today at the dentist too. I was getting a regular check up and the dentist walks out of the room and I notice a cord is slightly tangled and not sitting the same way all the other cords are. My partner knows how I can be and instantly realised what I was thinking and told me not to touch it, but I just sat there staring at it until they said we were all done and I have been imagining myself bending down and fixing it all day. I kind of hate that my partner wouldn't let me.